The shadow self

June 11 2016 – Self portrait, iPhone 5s.

I was sitting by the lake, watching my shadow. It’s like meditating, which I usually do every day at home, but it’s something else to meditate outdoors with only the sounds of nature. As I observed my own shadow the shadow self came to mind. I’ll be 45 in August and it feels as if I still don’t know exactly who or what I am. And what about this shadow of mine, is it just the darker side of myself? “To confront a person with his shadow is to show him his own light. Once one has experienced a few times what it is like to stand judgingly between the opposites, one begins to understand what is meant by the self. Anyone who perceives his shadow and his light simultaneously sees himself from two sides and thus gets in the middle.” (Carl Jung – Good and Evil in Analytical Psychology, 1959). I forgot about time and space thinking about this, but it was all worth it. (MEH)

18 comments

    1. “It feels as if I still don’t know exactly who or what I am”… I spent some time thinking about this one, because this feeling come and goes for me. I realize it could be a burden, but also a relief. I agree about the portrait, looks like a singer on stage, just like Harrie said. Singing by the lake, that sounds kind of lovely.

      Like

  1. Really love that explanation
    With the shadow shot
    It all works very well
    Age is just a number
    I believe you are finding your way as you speak
    Just for the mere fact that you were able to put
    Those words together
    Even if it was just to find them to express how you are feeling
    See you on the other side of creativity
    The Sheldon Perspective

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So your a Leo too? :-)
    It is interesting thinking about these things. The human mind is full of surprises, more or less good and bad. I have a tendency to think in similar ways and I’m not sure of who I am either and I’m about to be 50 soon. Maybe some of us never will know? I like you shadow!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent image, very much like the outstretched hand. I’m 66, and probably happy being that >>> one thing that I do know is that I’m very happy – EXTREMELY happy! – to have retired from work!!! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Go ahead, make me happy and leave a comment...

