The assignment; The return to yourself – your images

Adrian Lewis

Adrian Lewis – “Teasels, Stanton Drew, in the Chew Valley, south of Bristol; 1 Aug 2013.

I have been fortunate in inheriting artistic tendencies from one of my grandmothers, but I spent my working life in occupations very distant from the Arts – in science and data analysis.

I’d been noticing visually beautiful things all through my life, but never realised what that meant until, in 2003, I took up a far more considered approach to photography, really thinking in depth about the artistic aspects of the images that I create. After a life in the laboratory, I have in my later years returned to my real self.” Visit Adrian’s blog here.

Alan McKerl

Alan McKerl – Out of the Primordial Soup. Visit Alan’s blog here.

Ashley Lily Scarlett

Ashley Lily Scarlett – Visit Ashley’s blog here.

Cardinal Guzman

Cardinal Guzman – Vannspeilet, Gamlebyen, Oslo. Visit Cardinal’s blog here.

Diana Buzoianu

Diana Buzoianu – I took this photo while in a church in Romania… lately I’m feeling an acute need to get back to the essence that I am… to get back to God… This assignment came at the right time for this introspection for which I thank you Malin! The wick is the quintessence of the candle. Quintessence is the vertical reflection of Essence into matter and is at the center of every material thing. Although quintessence is a material principle because it is a perfect reflection of the Spirit to become one with the quintessence is in effect to become one with the Spirit. When the candle burns while air is flowing directly into the flame the wax is flowing into it indirectly by means of the wick. The lower action reflects the higher. Visit Diana’s blog here.

Harrie Nijland

Harrie Nijland – Visit Harrie’s blog here.

Karina Jeppesen

Kari Jeppesen – “If you close your eyes, you will see”… Visit Kari’s blog here.

Leanne Rivers

Leanne Rivers – The Wisdom of Surrender. Visit Leanne’s blog here.

Mathias Laitila Kälvemark

Mathias Laitila Kälvemark – I found an old backlit slide-viewer in a flea-market this summer. I only paid 30 Swedish crowns (around 4 USD). I cleaned it out, replaced the little light bulb and put a couple of new batteries inside. Eventually I got it to work. I have some slides from my childhood, saved for me by my father. The viewer becomes a time machine; taking me to a time before I was myself. And there I am, looking at myself. Photographed in Uppsala 1967 and Stockholm 2014, Sweden. Visit Mathias blog here.

Terje Hellesø

Terje Hellesø – This is a self portrait from Gettlinge gravfält on Öland in Sweden, July 1995.

After photographing several personal images from this place (with traces from the Bronze Age), the only thing I could do was just to lie down in the grass and purely consume the atmosphere from the place. This was really a way of returning to myself. Gettlinge gravfält is one of my personal favorite places in Sweden. Visit Terjes blog here.

I would like to thank you all (once again) for your contributions. It’s fantastic to see everyone’s images/interpretations on the subject. I’m not sure if this will be the last assignment or if there will be another one. It’s up to the readers. You can see the last assignments here, here, and here.

34 comments

  1. What a great and wonderful variety of images. That’s what one would hope to see as the result of an assignment with such a personal theme.
    I really do hope you give us another assignment, Malin, for two reasons: sometimes it’s good to stretch oneself to meet a brief and secondly because I like the surprise of seeing what people come up with.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I say: Impressive set and very diverse. I like that these themes provoke to look a bit further; or in other directions than I usually do. Thanks Malin and Ash! I’m always open for a new assignment. Enjoy the day!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow! Great post with so many great photos from great artists. That’s a lot of great in one sentence! When I saw your post in my inbox, I thought to myslef: “No, I forgot to send her the photo”, but obvisously I didn’t forget, I just forgot that I did. If you’ll post more assignments, I’ll gladly join. I’ll have a look at the individual blogs later, but right now there’s a lot of arrangements to be done for tonight.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great example of unity in diversity..an interesting theme seen from a very personal interpretation ..great assignment Malin..thank you for creating it ..looking forward to the next one !)))

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yes, a really intriguing set of submissions, certainly well worth seeing – thank you, Malin, for getting all this going!

    I note that you say that this might be the last of these assignments, and I can imagine the two problems that you’re probably facing here. First, there’s the thinking up of a title. You’ve done well so far, but its always a challenge – maybe like thinking what sort of image we’re going to post next.

    But second, there is the shepherding of us all so that a reasonable number of entries hit the deadline – and to put off doing things is after all basic human nature. I only remember because, being retired and living completely by my diary now, I make an entry for a fortnight or so ahead – and know that I must do it then – no more putting off today what I can do tomorrow! :) Adrian

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Malin, it is wonderful to see so many ways to understand this assignment, so many eyes…all, in this virtual walls… what a journey this is…
    …and this can´t stop, no, please – you created the monster, now let´s continue, I mean our will to be here, and to show, that is very important…the will… so please, more to come…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol!! So, I’ve created a monster? ;)
      Then I might as well continue…

      Waldman: “You have created a Monster and he will destroy you.”
      Henry: “Patience, patience. I believe in this Monster, as you call it. And if you don’t, well, you must leave me alone. So far, he’s been kept in complete darkness. Wait till I bring him into the light.” (Frankenstein, 1931) :D

      Like

Go ahead, make me happy and leave a comment...

