The assignment; My roots – your images

Adrian Lewis

Adrian Lewis – “I consist of chemical elements that were created within stars and hence here, within a star, are my roots. And when, in the far future, the Sun swells and engulfs the inner planets, including the Earth, the chemical elements that constituted me will be within a star once more. So, my roots – and my destiny too. The photo shows a total eclipse of the Sun in Kenya, I think in 1980. The Moon is totally obscuring the Sun’s face, but the Sun’s glowing atmosphere is seen around the Moon’s dark disc.” Visit Adrian’s blog here.

Ashley Lily Scarlett

Ashley Lily Scarlett – This one was difficult for me. I kept looking at various roots and felt no resonance, telling myself it was because of having been up-rooted when I was 14 in 1974 and unwillingly whisked away from England to Australia. I didn’t transplant very well. I’m not a very grounded person either. Finally I decided I needed to find a Moreton Bay Fig tree and suddenly there was one close to my new home. They are remarkable for their roots, these trees: there are the aerial ones hanging down as in my image but also huge buttress ones. It’s the aerial ones that I relate to. And I think if I think for longer I would find some roots inside me that don’t involve plant life nor geography. Visit Ashley’s blog here.

Benoît Beaudry

Benoît Beaudry – I didn’t succeed finding my roots, but I took a picture while searching for them! Métis-sur-Mer, Québec, Canada. Visit Benoît’s blog here.

Biswajit Dihidar

Biswajit Dihidar – Taken in my hometown, Gossaigaon, India. Visit Biswajit’s blog here.

Gustav Rappestad

Gustav Rappestad – A dead tree with old and dry roots in the S:t Anna archipelago of Östergötland, Sweden. It is in these surroundings that I’ve spent all my summers since I was a child. Visit Gustavs blog here.

Harrie Nijland

Harrie Nijland – May 2013; near my place of birth: Deventer. I was visiting the place where my grandparents farm used to be. When I was eight years old I biked the 8 km. from our house to the farm almost every weekend. I loved the land; the nature; the animals; my grandparents and the freedom out there. The shot shows ‘De Belt’; a small piece of nature where we played a lot. I chose this shot for the assignment because the roots for my love for nature must have started to grow right here. So, all the nature-shots on my blog are somehow connected with this place. The farm; the stables and the sheds are all taken down because of urban expansion. Only the trees and fields felt familiar. Visit Harrie’s blog here.

Jörg Kruth

Jörg Kruth – I took this image about 20 years ago, when I was walking down this road together with a friend. Place: Ellenbogen, Sylt, Germany. Visit Jörg’s blog here.

Ken (oneowner) Bello

Ken (oneowner) Bello – The photo was taken at the Rochester Museum and Science Center where I volunteer my services as a photographer and digital management adviser. Visit Ken’s blogs here and here.

Mathias Laitila Kälvemark

Mathias Laitila Kälvemark – Stockholm, Sweden. Visit Mathias blog here.

Terje Hellesø

Terje Hellesø – This is an analogue image from 1999. My family on my fathers side comes from a little island named Hellesøy, 90 kilometers outside Bergen in western Norway (this can be seen in my last name). I was walking among the cliffs when I saw this little tussock of grass growing in a crevice. With both a sepiafilter and a foggy filter on the lens it looked more like the contours of a man. The image even has the title “The Man”, and in some ways symbolizes myself. Myself as a part of the cliffs on my ancestors island. This is my roots. Visit Terjes blog here.

I would like to thank you all for your contributions. It’s both fascinating and wonderful to see everyone’s images/interpretations on the subject. I hope you all would like to partake in the next assignment. You can see the last assignments here and here.

 

35 comments

  1. What a fabulous post Malin and a great example of taking an assignment and stretching yourself to complete it. I absolutely love how you now only captures or selected some terrific images but explained why you selected them and what they meant to you. This is the work of a skilled artist and you have done a terrific job. I thoroughly enjoyed the text and images in this post and also learning more about you as the artist. Well done.

    Like

    1. Hi Rick and thank you for your comment.
      These images (in this particular post) are not my images, it’s from different photographers/readers who participates in my assignments. I’m doing these assignments from time to time for my readers/blog friends. You’re more than welcome to participate in the next one.

      Like

      1. Oh goodness Malin, thank you for your patience and delicate way of explaining this. I feel quite silly not to have realized this but since I just started following the blog I hadn’t yet read that assignment from several posts earlier. This is such a great idea and I have to say, you have some extremely talented followers for whom I would have the same words of praise. Warm regards. ~ Rick

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Malin! I am so happy with all of this results…the images so powerful, and the stories, so moving!! …this is such a joy, a pleasure to smooth the spirit and mind…(…smiling…)
    Sadly, I didn´t make it this time (…sigh…)…so, I just hope you can give me the next assignment, please… (…smiling again…)
    Thank you, this is a great way to do things, you became a curator, an a very nice one!!…

    Like

    1. I’m very happy to see all these wonderful images too and already thinking of the next one. :) See you and enjoy the week, my friend (smiling back at you).

      Like

  3. Yes, my friend, this is very good, an intriguing and enjoyable mix of responses – I’m amazed that I’ve managed to complete the assignments so far, assignments really are not my thing, I’ve never done any “photography to order” before >>> but do let’s have so more!!! A :)

    Like

    1. I’m so amazed too by all the fantastic images! And you are very, very welcome to participate in the next one, my friend. :)

      Like

  4. The roots thing is a very powerful image . As in life every living organism starts from a seed if that is nutrient and taken Carmarthen it’s roots will stand the test of time. When mother natures winds blows the strongest the roots will remain

    Like

Go ahead, make me happy and leave a comment...

